The Nolan Law Firm The Nolan LAw FirmIf there’s a way out, we’ll find it!
P 480-359-3457

A Husband And Wife Team With Decades Of Combined Experience

We offer highly effective criminal defense representation for every stage from precharge investigation to jury trial through appeals and post-conviction relief.

Understanding ignition interlock devices in Arizona

Despite the police force's best efforts, many Arizona residents continue to drink and drive. In fact, some evidence suggests that more people than ever before drive while drunk. Over the most recent St. Patrick's Day weekend, police arrested 366 people for DUI, which was a slight increase from the same weekend last year. 

Upon arrest, drivers need to start building a defense right away. A DUI conviction will bring numerous consequences that will stay with the person for years to come. One punishment many people tend to overlook is the requirement to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This item will prevent the car from starting unless the driver proves he or she is sober. 

What does an IID do?

A professional will install the IID directly to your car's ignition. You will need to blow into the device so it can detect any alcohol on your breath. In the event that a violation occurs, the car will not start. However, these days, the device will also alert the Arizona Department of Transportation of the violation. A violation has several possible outcomes: The length of time you need the IID will increase, or the state may also suspend or revoke your driver's license. The purpose of this punishment is to make it so that drivers do not even feel the temptation to drink and drive again. 

How much does it cost?

A driver convicted of DUI has the responsibility to bear the cost of installing the IID. This can range depending on the specific device a driver gets and who she or he gets to install it. Generally speaking, the initial installation will cost anywhere between $70 and $150. Drivers also need to pay a monthly leasing fee, which can range between $40 and $100. These costs are in addition to the litany of fees and penalties someone has to pay when convicted of drunk driving. 

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Contact The Firm

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

brand

The Nolan Law Firm
1744 S Val Vista Drive, Suite 210
Mesa, AZ 85204

Phone: 480-359-3457
Fax: 480-539-1016
Mesa Law Office Map

Review Us