The Nolan Law Firm The Nolan LAw FirmIf there’s a way out, we’ll find it!
P 480-359-3457

A Husband And Wife Team With Decades Of Combined Experience

We offer highly effective criminal defense representation for every stage from precharge investigation to jury trial through appeals and post-conviction relief.

Arizona Misdemeanor DUI Charges

When you are charged with a DUI in Arizona you need an aggressive DUI attorney who will defend you and your rights to make sure that you are treated fairly and within the guidelines of the law. Nolan law is here for you 24/7 to protect you and your rights if or when you are pulled over and charged for such offenses. But 99 times out of 100 your attorney isn't going to be there during a DUI stop which is why we want to provide you with a few details about Arizona DUI laws and the different classifications of drinking and driving offenses.

1. In Arizona it is unlawful to drive or be in physical control of any vehicle while under the influence of any intoxicating liquor, drug, vapor or a combination of any of the aforementioned.
2. In Arizona it is unlawful to drive or be in physical control of any vehicle and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or above within 2 hours of driving.
3. In Arizona it is unlawful to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a BAC of .15 or more within two hours of driving.
4. In Arizona, it is unlawful to drive or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle with a BAC of .20 or more within two hours of driving.

Each of these offenses is different and can be considered separate charges. Often times the offender will be charged with 2 or more of the above listed offenses. For example, if you are charged with a DUI of above 0.08 you could be charged with the first two and if your BAC is above .20 you may be charged with all four. This is why you need an aggressive DUI attorney in order to help protect your rights and keep you from being unfairly sentenced.

Penalties for First Offense DUI

DUI penalties also differ for first time and repeat offenders. However, the laws in Arizona are harsh for anyone convicted for DUI. The current statue requires that a first time offender spend at least 10 consecutive days in jail however a skilled and qualified attorney may be able to get the court to suspend all but 24 hours of the sentence if the offender completes an alcohol and substance abuse counseling program.

If the offender does not complete the program within a specific amount of time they could be sent back to jail to finish out the remainder of the required jail time. Since the statue states the time must be consecutive, you will not receive credit for the first 24 hours served. In addition to the mandatory jail time, the statutes also require a fine of not less than $425 plus surcharges, administrative fees and court costs.

The court may also require that a first time offender perform up to 40 hours of community service and to attend a class called the Victim Impact Panel sponsored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving. In addition, the offender will also be placed on 12 months probation which can be monitored or unmonitored depending on the courts ruling.

Lastly, the court will require an ignition interlock device for a minimum of 6 months to be placed in your vehicle which comes with a monthly fee which typically starts at $79 a month and the device must be maintained monthly otherwise it will lock and you will not be able to start your car until you pay to have the company come out to your location in order to unlock the device.

By hiring an experienced and aggressive DUI attorney in Arizona you can minimize the amount of jail time and fines you will face. The right attorney can even ensure you that you qualify for a work release program to help you keep your job and livelihood. Without an attorney you're left to the mercy of the court and likely to face severe penalties that you might otherwise avoid.

We at Nolan Law always advise that you do not drive while under the influence however if you are pulled over and charged with a DUI or DWI your first step is to call an Arizona DUI attorney. We are available for you 24/7 so keep our number saved in your phone and make sure to tell the police that you need to contact your attorney before you consent to or say anything further. If you have already been charged with a DUI or DWI contact the Nolan Law Firm for a free consultation at (480) 773-7901.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Contact The Firm

Contact The Firm

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

brand

The Nolan Law Firm
1744 S Val Vista Drive, Suite 210
Mesa, AZ 85204

Phone: 480-359-3457
Fax: 480-539-1016
Mesa Law Office Map

Review Us